Anthony Anderson to Host the NAACP Awards for the 5th Consecutive Time

The 2018 NAACP Awards will soon be upon us! The annual awards ceremony is held every year celebrating people of color in all aspects of entertainment…such as film, music, television, arts and literature. The long standing event also promotes social justice and overall empowerment through innovative endeavors.

In its 49th season, funny man Anthony Anderson, most recently known for his role on ABC’s “Blackish”, is returning for a fifth consecutive year to host the distinguished program. The Emmy nominated actor has garnered heavy praise as a former host and has had quite the eventful history with the show. In addition to winning the notable “Outstanding Male Actor” Award for his character “Dre” on Blackish three times in a row (2015, 2016, 2017), he has also had some unforgettably awesome moments in the process. In 2016 in an opening segment he went in on actress Stacy Dash while hosting the 47th awards. Dressed in a plain white tee and blue jeans he playfully introduced the actress as a presenter at the awards show. While yelling,

“Come back to the black side and make some more c-list movies, I promise we will watch them.”

Or in the same year when he paid homage to NWA, playing 1980’s Ice Cube, complete with the gerri curl and black fitted cap to match, in a skit titled “Coming Straight Outta Hollywood”. Anderson has a knack for hyping the energy up at just the right time, or dropping unorthodox one-liners without hesitation. It is scenarios like this that have helped the amusing comedian become a staple at the prestigious awards show by flourishing when able to display his showmanship. In addition, even as a winner of multiple accolades on the show, he is also never shy to credit other fellow artists too.

Speaking of other artists, nominees for the honorable “Entertainer of the Year” award for the year 2017 include a variety of talented all around performers such as Jay-Z, Ava Duvernay, Chance The Rapper, Bruno Mars, Issa Rae, and Chadwick Boseman. The voting will be open to fans and viewers to select and cast ballots. While a full list of the 2018 nominees and/or musical performances have yet to be released, last year’s winners included Beyoncé, Maxwell, LeBron James, Taraji P. Hensen, Iyanla Vanzant, Denzel Washington, Tamela Mann, and Steve Harvey to name a few.

With that said, we look for 2018’s show to bring more fire and flavor. And of course whatever crazy surprises we’ve come to love from Anthony Anderson. Certainly if the last five years have been any indication, there are plenty of reasons for his highly anticipated return. And we can’t wait to see what he will bring this time around.
So stay tuned ladies and gentleman!

The NAACP Awards will air on January 15th, 2018 on TV One at 9P.M. ET.

-DeShonna Watson


  • Total Score 0%
User rating: 0.00% ( 0
votes )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.